Buenaventura Press closure reactions

twitter Buenaventura Press closure reactions0facebook Buenaventura Press closure reactions0google Buenaventura Press closure reactions0pinterest Buenaventura Press closure reactions0tumblr Buenaventura Press closure reactionsreddit Buenaventura Press closure reactions0stumbleupon Buenaventura Press closure reactions0

201006151402 Buenaventura Press closure reactions

Sean T Collins rounded up reactions from creators and fellow publishers on the closure of Buenaventura Press, and it’s all sad, sad, sad. We’ve heard bits and pieces of the story behind the story, and that’s all sad too. For now we’ll respect Alvin’s wishes for privacy at this time and just reiterate our hope that he can continue to find a way to contribute to this golden age of comics art.

In the meantime, Chris Butcher used the occasion to promote other great indie comics publishers who are still getting the job done, and hopefully he won’t mind us stealing his links to do the same:

AdHouse Books – http://adhousebooks.com/.
Bodega Distribution – http://www.bodegadistribution.com/ (also on hiatus for the yeaer but planning to return in 2011)
Conundrum Press – http://conundrumpress.com/
Drawn & Quarterly – http://drawnandquarterly.com/
Fanfare / Ponent-Mon – http://ponentmon.com/
Fantagraphics Books – http://fantagraphics.com/
Koyama Press – http://koyamapress.com/
La Pasteque – http://lapasteque.com/
New Reliable Press – http://newreliable.com/
Oni Press – http://onipress.com/
Picturebox Inc. – http://www.pictureboxinc.com/
Pop Sandbox – http://popsandbox.com/
Secret Acres – http://www.secretacres.com/
SLG Publishing – http://slgpublishing.com/
Sparkplug Comic Books – http://sparkplugcomicbooks.com/
Top Shelf Comix – http://topshelfcomix.com/
Topatoco – http://topatoco.com/
Tug Boat Press – http://tugboatpress.com
U.S.S. Catastrophe – http://www.usscatastrophe.com/
Please check out these publishers and support their efforts. We are truly seeing more great comics than at any other time in history and these are the people getting it done — in most cases, just for love and a little bit of money.

Comments

  1. Karen says:

    That list makes me DROOL.

  2. Don’t forget Archaia Entertainment http://www.Archaia.com

    Totally supportive of their creators, responsible for gorgeous packaging and trying to do some different things in the marketplace…

    …like my upcoming book SYNDROME!

  3. Also:
    One Percent Press, Partyka, Global Hobo and Microcosm – great publishers of minicomics, grahpic novels, prints, zines and other fine things.

  4. also, La Mano.

    for chrissakes.

  5. and also; yeah. Alvin and Buenaventura did great work and put out a ton of great books; i’ll really miss it, as will most folks who love comics.

Speak Your Mind

*