Chew/Revival team-up planned

unnamed 1 Chew/Revival team up planned
Chew’s John Layman & Rob Guillory, the Revival’s Tim Seeley & Mike Norton, are cooking up a team-up crossover for May, Image Comics reports. It isn’t the first Image crossover—in the early days they were a staple—but it’s an interesting twist for the auteur era.

unnamed 2 Chew/Revival team up planned

Readers will find out what’s on the menu for Tony Chu when he heads into rural Wisconsin—where the dead don’t stay at rest and the living do their best to cope—in CHEW/REVIVAL #1. 
 
“In my head I’ve got a checklist of all my favorite books I want Chew to crossover with, if for no other reason than it gives me an opportunity to visit a world that isn’t mine, that I’d nonetheless like to play in,” said Layman. “Revival is a the top of the list, and I’m stoked I’ve got the opportunity to send Tony Chu to visit. It’s a fun opportunity to check out both books for less than a single issue of each.”
 
“When John [Layman] proposed the idea, I told Tim [Seeley], ‘no way. That will never work,’” admitted Norton. “After a while I thought about it and went back to Tim and said, ‘yeah, no way, that will never work!’ But then, I thought even more on it. I think the way we’re doing it is reminiscent of when indie books of the ’80s would cross companies and appear in each book even though you’d never expect those universes to collide. It’s just a matter of loosening up and having some fun.”
 
Seeley added, “Chew showed us all that there was a place for quality off-kilter series, and we’re excited to have the cast of our ‘rural noir’ meet up with America’s favorite cibopath. I think we’ve figured out a great way to take advantage of the ‘WHAT THE HELL’ factor of crossing over two very different worlds that’ll make for a great read.”
 
“Honestly, even I was shocked how well the two titles gelled together,” said Guillory. “It’s a really, really fun experiment that will surprise fans of both books, I think.”
 
Perfect for fans of CHEW and REVIVAL who are hungry to try something new and a good taste-test for readers new to either series, CHEW/REVIVAL has something for everyone.
 
CHEW/REVIVAL #1 is served in stores on 5/28, and will be available for $4.99.

Speak Your Mind

*