Stumptown Awards nominations announced

twitter Stumptown Awards nominations announced0facebook Stumptown Awards nominations announced0google Stumptown Awards nominations announced0pinterest Stumptown Awards nominations announced0tumblr Stumptown Awards nominations announcedreddit Stumptown Awards nominations announced0stumbleupon Stumptown Awards nominations announced0email Stumptown Awards nominations announced

201103151228 Stumptown Awards nominations announced

Nominations for the Stumptown Awards, held in conjunction with the Stumptown Comics Festival in Portland, OR on April 16-17th have been announced. Nominees were selected by a judging panel which consisted of Michael Allred (Madman), Brandon Graham (King City), Laura Hudson (Editor,, Michael Ring (Owner, Bridge City Comics), and Jason Leivian (Owner, Floating World Comics) and will be presented at the show.

Best Artist:

Emily Carroll – His Face All Read
Roman Muradov – Etc and A Cave
Stuart Immonen – Moving Pictures
Brian Hurtt – The Sixth Gun
Brecht Evens – Night Animals

Best Writer:

Carla Speed McNeil – Finder: Voice
Cullen Bunn – The Sixth Gun
Greg Rucka – Stumptown
Aaron Renier – The Unsinkable Walker Bean.
Ben Marra – Benjamin Marra’s The Incredibly Fantastic Adventures of Maureen Down (A Work of Satire and Fiction)

Best Cartoonist:

Carla Speed McNeil – Finder: Voice
Johnny Ryan – Prison Pit Vol. 2
Sarah Glidden – How to Understand Israel in 60 Days or Less
Bryan Lee O’Mlley – Scott Pilgrim’s Finest Hour
Adam Hines – Duncan the Wonder Dog

Best Letterer:

Johnny Ryan – Prison Pit Vol. 2
Madeline Flores – The Girl and the Gorilla
Carla Speed McNeil – Finder: Voice
Aaron Renier – The Unsinkable Walker Bean
Brittney Sabo – Francis Sharp in the Grip of the Uncanny, Vol. 1

Best Colorist:

Brecht Evens – Night Animals
Emily Carroll – His Face All Read
Alec Longstreth – The Unsinkable Walker Bean
Ben Costa – Pang: The Wandering Shaolin Monk
Sarah Glidden – How to Understand Israel in 60 Days or Less

Best Publication Design:

Zack Soto – StudyGroup12 #4
Brecht Evens – Night Animals
Michael DeForge – Spotting Deer
Jason Little – Motel Art Improvement Service
Elizabeth M. Pusack – Pretty Ugly

Best Anthology:

StudyGroup12 #4 – Zack Soto
Gazeta: Comics from Bangkok to Belgrade – Lisa Mangum and Maria Sputnik
Elfworld #1 – Francois Vigneault 
AX: A Collection of Alternative Manga – Sean Michael Wilson
Nix Comics Quarterly – Ken Eppstein 

Best Small Press:

I Want You #2 – Lisa Hanawalt 
Green Monk – Brandon Dayton
The Whale – Aidan Koch
Flesh and Bone- Julia Gfrörer 
Layered Jacket – Corey Lewis

Best New Talent:

Michael DeForge
Adam Hines
Emi Lenox
Sarah Oleksyk
Julia Gfrörer

Reader’s Choice:

Voters are asked to list up to three of their favorite comics from April 2010 to April 2011. Any graphic novel, trade paper back collection, single issue or ongoing series, small press or online – whatever title has the most votes as determined by the readers will win this special prize.


  1. Congrats to my fellow Columbusite Ken Eppstein on the nomination of his Nix Comics Quarterly. C-Bus represent!

  2. Thanks Dara! I’m truly astounded and honored to have been nominated!

Speak Your Mind