Image Wrestling and Whispering: Lynda Barry’s Kaleidoscopic Modus in Girlhood Through the Looking Glass


Tweet   The swing of this year’s SDCC has finally begun to wind down, and while there was inarguably no lack in the immense influx of comics/movie/merchandise-related news, there was amazingly still a capacity for SDCC to focus on and feature the burgeoning comic academic scene. Along with this year’s Comics Art Conference, the Eisner […]

The 2013 Eisner Award Winners Are…


TweetCongratulations to all the winners!

2013 Harvey Award Nominations announced — HAWKEYE and SAGA get seven each


Tweet Because there is not enough to do today, the nominations for the 2013 Harvey Awards have just been announced. Voting is taking place online—nominees are selected via online balloting as well. The winners will be announced at the Baltimore Comic-Con on September 7th. There is always some agita about this or that voting block […]

The 2013 Shel Dorf Award Nominations are now open


TweetI’m a little late catching this, but the nomination process for the 2013 Shel Dorf Awards is now open. If you want to make your nominations for categories including best ongoing series, best writer, best editor, best kids comic and so on – head over to the website to cast your votes. Held at the Detroit […]

Announcing the Winners of our Man of Steel contest!


Tweet Hey true believers, sorry for keeping you all in suspense, but we finally have the two winners of our amazing Man of Steel giveaway sponsored by Nokia. Winners get a Nokia Lumia 920, a wireless charging pillow, a special Man of Steel phone cover and either a Zod Mask or a Zod statue. The […]

British Comics Awards panel makes every other comics awards judging panel look like total weak sauce


Tweet The British Comics Awards were held for the first time last year, and this year a steering committee has put together perhaps the first comic book awards judging panel with groupies: Gareth David (lyricist and singer in the band Los Campesinos!), Lenny Henry (actor, writer and comedian), Stephen L Holland (co-owner and manager of […]

Reminder! Eisner Award voting ends June 12th!


Tweet [Vintage Jim Steranko from the 2006 Eisners.] The deadline for voting in the Eisner Awards is WEDNESDAY June 12 at MIDNIGHT PDT. There are no paper ballots this year, only online. Voting is open to industry professionals, defined as comics creators (writers, artists, colorists, letterers), editors, publishers, and retailers, plus graphic novel librarians and […]

2013 Joe Shuster Award nominees announced


Tweet More Canadian cartooning awards? Yes indeed. The ninth annual Joe Shuster Awards, honoring Canadian comics in multiple categories, have just been announced and it goes from Yannick Paquette to Michael DeForge and back again. Nominees were selected this spring from lists of creators of original works published and distributed during the previous year in […]

DC profiles: Karen Berger and Jeff Robinov


TweetKremlinologist alert! § Dave Itzkoff profiles Karen Berger, now departed from Vertigo, and the changing face of risk-taking at DC. Of course everyone will be quoting this part, so I will too: Ms. Berger said she noted changes in DC’s priorities in recent years. “I’ve found that they’re really more focused on the company-owned characters,” […]

Film adaptation of Julie Maroh’s Blue is the Warmest Color wins Palme d’Or


Tweet The Cannes FIlm Festival wrapped up over the weekend, and the winner of the Palme ‘dOr—the grand prize for all the films at the fest— was Blue is the Warmest Color, an adaptation of Julie Maroh’s graphic novel Le Bleu est Une Couleur Chaude. It’s the first comic book movie to win the top […]

Crane and Kirkman share the Reuben Award; Ware, Chast, Wrightson win


Tweet The annual Reuben Awards were handed out on Saturday Night, and the top award, known as the Reuben for cartoonist of the year, ws shared by Brian Crane of “Pickles” (above) and Rick Kirkman, co-creator of “Baby Blues”. It was only the second tie in history (Johnny Hart and Pat Oliphaunt tied in 1968.) […]

Gerber and Rosa get the Finger Award


Tweet   The winners of the Bill Finger Award for 2013 have been announced and they are Steve Gerber and Don Rosa. The award was created in 2005 to recognize writers—one living, one deceased—who have yet to receive adequate notice for their work. Gerber and Rosa are certainly exemplary choices. Gerber’s work on Howard the […]

Archie’s Kevin Keller wins GLAAD award


Tweet Archie’s ongoing Kevin Keller comic won Outstanding Comic Book at the GLAAD Media Awards, presented Saturday evening in San Francisco. The book beat out Astonishing X-Men, Batwoman, Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Earth 2 for the honor, which recognizes ” fair, accurate and inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community.” It […]

2013 Doug Wright Award winners


Tweet Last night’s 9th annual Doug Wright Awards, honoring the best in Canadian comics past and present, unspooled with the following winners: Best Book: The Song of Roland, by Michel Rabagliati 

The Spotlight Award (aka “The Nipper”): Nina Bunjevac for Heartless

Pigskin Peters Award: Hamilton Illustrated, by David Collier

Albert Chartier was inducted into The Giants of […]

New award alert! The 9th Art Award announced


As we’ve been noting, literary awards for graphic novels are becoming more common everywhere, and here’s a new one: The 9th Art Award. The prize is a joint venture between Graphic Scotland and the Edinburgh International Book Festival and will be presented this August at the Edinburgh International Book Festival.

2013 Stumptown Award Winners


Tweet The Stumptown Comic Art Awards were handed out Saturday in Portland and via Jen Vaughn’s twitter feed and Johanna Draper Carlson here are the winners, from Juanjo Guarnido to Evan Dahm — big comics town that PDX. Best Writer: Leia Weathington (The Legend of Bold Riley) Best Artist: Juanjo Guarnido (Blacksad: A Silent Hell) […]